Celebrating our Coastal Leaders

One Hundred Miles 100:

Individuals and Businesses Making a Difference for Georgia's Coast

The One Hundred Miles 100 recognizes individuals and organizations for their efforts to preserve and protect Georgia’s extraordinary 100-mile coastline for generations to come.

Through their actions, their words, their votes, and their voices, these advocates show steadfast commitment to protecting and preserving our Georgia coast. Some demonstrate their concern in the lab or on our beaches, maritime forests, rivers, and oceans; others make their contribution in classrooms, office buildings, elected office, or even in their own neighborhoods. They are young and old, well-known and yet to be discovered. For these reasons and many more, we owe them a debt of gratitude.

For our second annual list, we want to celebrate untold stories of coastal champions of all walks of life, each doing their part to make our coast a better place. Nominations can be made for individuals, groups, projects, or businesses who give back in either a personal or professional capacity (active or retired). Nominees do not have to be well known, their projects can be big or small, and while they do not necessarily have to live or work in coastal Georgia, their actions should have a demonstrative impact on our 100 miles. An OHM100 honoree might be an educator or student, a biologist or conservation professional, a writer or artist, a community or faith-based leader, or simply a coastal enthusiast working to make a difference close to home. 

From your nominations, OHM will select 50 initial honorees for the list. Each honoree will then have the opportunity to pay tribute to someone who has inspired their work or made an impact on our coast. Collectively, these stories will make up our second annual OHM100!

We will announce the full list in December and honor the recipients at our Choosing to Lead conference on Saturday, January 13, 2018.

Join us in celebrating the stories of our 1st Annual One Hundred Miles 100:

Coastal Stewards – Honoring those who devote their professional lives to protecting and preserving the environmental, cultural, and historic resources of our Georgia coast


Researchers and Innovators – Honoring researchers and innovators in the scientific community who help us better understand our wildlife and wild places, and whose research creates innovative solutions that protect our Georgia coast



Business Leaders – Honoring businesses – small, large, nonprofit, and for profit – that demonstrate forward-thinking leadership in conserving and enhancing our Georgia coast




Community Advocates – Honoring those who lend their voice and resources to advocating for the vibrant communities of our Georgia coast




Artists – Honoring the creative artists whose work highlights the unique beauty and integral challenges of our Georgia coast




Writers – Honoring authors, journalists, and literary groups for their work to increase awareness of critical issues affecting our Georgia coast




Civic Leaders – Honoring elected and civic officials on all levels who, through their actions and voice, positively influence policies and conservation efforts for our Georgia coast



Educators – Honoring those who educate, both inside and outside the classroom, and who inspire appreciation and respect for our Georgia coast



Next Generation – Honoring the students and young professionals who use their creativity, curiosity, and energy to ensure a brighter future for our Georgia coast




Legacy Leaders  – Honoring the visionary leaders, past and present, who have made a lasting and significant impact on our Georgia coast